Breaking News
More () »

Seismic shift: Democrats win City-County Council supermajority

Democrats held a 14-11 council majority prior to Tuesday’s election,
Political newcomer Ethan Evans was elected to Indy's City-County Council on Tuesday. (Photo: WTHR)

INDIANAPOLIS (WTHR) - It's a seismic shift in power on the Indianapolis City Council.

Democrats will hold a supermajority for the first time in city history.

Democrats, who held a 14-11 majority prior to Tuesday’s election, won an additional five seats and perhaps a sixth, depending on the outcome of a race that was still too close to call.

Those wins included the unseating of three incumbents.

Minority Leader Michael McQuillen, whose district includes Lawrence, lost to political newcomer Ethan Evans by four percent.

Colleen Fanning, who represents Broad Ripple and a swath of the north side, lost to Keith Potts, another first-time candidate. The spread was 23 percent.

And Republican Janice McHenry, elected in 2007, also lost her seat, as Wayne Township voters chose Crista Carlino to represent District 4.

As of late Tuesday night, the District 15 race, an open seat, was still too close to call, but Democrat Jessica McCormick held a narrow lead over Republican Andy Harris.

Republicans long dominated the council until Democrats gained control with a three-seat majority in 2011. The county has continued to trend Democratic, holding all eight county-wide offices.

Paid Advertisement

Before You Leave, Check This Out