WTHR wins six Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards

WTHR is honored to receive six regional 2015 Edward R. Murrow Awards, including the award for Overall Excellence. The Radio Television Digital News Association announced the winners Thursday morning after reviewing a record number of entries this year.

The Overall Excellence award recognizes the depth and scope of the news organization on air and on digital media.

Judges also selected WTHR as the recipient of the Newscast award for the station's coverage of the shooting at Purdue University in January 2014.

Reporter Kevin Rader and photojournalist Steve Rhodes received the award for Sports Reporting for their story called “The Gift.” They shared the story of parents who discovered a video tape of their teenage son 13 years after his death.

13 Investigates received the Investigative Reporting award for Bob Segall's story about how a federal program designed to crack down on Medicare waste and fraud may be backfiring, exposing seniors to harassment, and costing taxpayers. Segall shares the award with photojournalist Bill Ditton and producers Cyndee Hebert and Susan Batt.

The Murrow judges also recognized individual achievement of two members of the WTHR news team. Rader received the Murrow award for writing for his Only in Indiana stories. His entry included “The Gift,” a story about a backyard roller coaster, and the tale of a colorful auto mechanic who built a spaceship car. Chief Photographer Matt Mrozinski received the Murrow for Use of Video for a story involving an emotional meeting of the widow of a murdered IMPD officer and the woman he died saving.

Since 1971, the Radio Television Digital News Association has honored outstanding achievements in electronic journalism with the Edward R. Murrow Awards. The organization says, “Award recipients demonstrate the spirit of excellence that Murrow set as a standard for the profession of electronic journalism.”

While announcing the awards, RTDNA Chair Amy Tardif released a statement saying, "When newsrooms do outstanding work to inform their audience and serve their community, it should be celebrated…. Being recognized with one of journalism's most prestigious awards is one way to showcase their commitment to excellence."

RTDNA reports it received more than 4,200 entries for the 2015 award season, which is an all-time record for the third year in a row.

Judges select winners in 13 regions across the US and from an international group of broadcasters. Indianapolis competes in Region 7 against other Large Market (Market 1-50) television stations in Indiana, Illinois, Michigan and Ohio. A complete list of 2015 Regional Edward R. Murrow winners is posted online.