WTHR honored with National Edward R. Murrow Award

Reporter Kevin Rader, left, with photojournalist Steve Rhodes
Eyewitness News Reporter Kevin Rader and Photojournalist Steve Rhodes have been awarded one of the highest honors for a broadcast journalist, the National Edward R. Murrow Award. They won the 2015 Sports Reporting award for Large Market television stations.

Their story, called “The Gift”, captures the grief of two parents who lost their teenaged son to a drug overdose 14 years ago and the powerful connection they felt after recently finding a dusty videotape of him playing baseball not too long before his death. Since David's death, Kim and Marissa Manlove have dedicated their lives to helping other parents cope with the death of a child. They've used this story in the last few months to help share their journey.

You can watch "The Gift," along with more of Kevin's "Only in Indiana" stories, on WTHR this Saturday at 8:00 pm.

This is the second national Murrow award Rader has received and the third for Rhodes.

The award will be presented at an October gala in New York City.

The Edward R. Murrow Awards are presented by the Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) to recognize outstanding work by radio, television and online new organizations. RTDNA is the world's largest professional organization devoted exclusively to electronic journalism.

See a complete list of national winners.