WTHR among fundraisers honored at annual downtown ceremony

The Association of Fundraising Professionals honored WTHR and others Wednesday night. (Photo: AFP/Twitter)

INDIANAPOLIS (WTHR) - A ceremony was held Wednesday to recognize the winners of the 35th Annual Indiana Philanthropy Awards at the Indiana Roof Ballroom.

The ceremony was put on by the Association of Fundraising Professionals, which empowers people and organizations to make significant contributions in our communities.

WTHR was honored with the Outstanding Corporation Award for our "Have Hope" suicide prevention campaign and our "WTHR Cares Emergency Relief Network," which raised funds for hurricane victims.

WTHR President and General Manager Larry Delia accepted the award.

Other fundraisers honored Wednesday include:

  • Harrison County Community Foundation - Outstanding Foundation Award
  • Taylor Whitaker - Outstanding Young Adult Award
  • Mekinley Elrod - Outstanding Youth Achievement Award
  • Kathy Dannels, CFRE - Outstanding Fundraising Professional Award
  • Sally Zelonis, CFRE - Outstanding Fundraising Professional Award
  • George Plews - Outstanding Volunteer Fundraiser Award
  • Sandra Eskenazi - Outstanding Philanthropist Award
  • Andre and Julia Lacy - Lifetime Achievement Award
Filed under: