Social media rallies for Lauren Hill to receive ESPY courage award, not Caitlyn Jenner

Lauren Hill

Some people were surprised by the ESPY Award nominations announced Monday, including some on social media upset that Caitlyn Jenner will be honored with the Arthur Ashe Courage Award.

The recognition is awarded annually to someone "whose contributions transcend sports."

Many believe the award should go to Lauren Hill, an Indiana teen who died in early April after fighting a rare, pediatric brain tumor, DIPG.

19-year-old Hill lived out her dream to play for her college basketball team and spent her last months raising money and awareness about DIPG.

People are in so much support of Lauren Hill receiving an ESPY that #LaurenHillESPY began trending on Twitter.

Here are a few tweets rallying for Lauren:

@GottliebShow: I can think of no more courageous or deserving athlete this year than the late #LaurenHill - should have been Arthur Ashe recipient IMO

@JoshScottOCN: Boycotting the #ESPYs until #LaurenHill wins the Arthur Ashe Courage Award. @espn @SportsCenter Hoping MILLIONS more do the same.

@PinkNinjaBlogg: Born and raised in OHIO. We stand behind #LaurenHillESPY do you?

@JacksonG34: The real face of courage... battling cancer and raising over $1.5 mil in research before she passed #LaurenHillESPY

@SweeterTweeter: If anyone deserves the Arthur Ashe Courage Award, it's this courageous and REAL woman right here. #LaurenHillESPY

Lauren's family told NBC's WLWT in Cincinnati that they're honored people are remembering Lauren for her courage.

"She was able to touch lives and show everybody her courage and dig deep and play the sport that she loved and make her dreams happen and inspire everybody," the family said.

Caitlyn Jenner will receive the award at the Espys July 15 at the Nokia Theatre in Losa Angeles. It;s for her bravery for publicly coming out as a transgender woman.

Jenner says that for the first time in July she will be able to "stand as my true self in front of my peers."

Jenner confirmed Monday in Vanity Fair magazine that the former Olympian champion and reality star previously known as Bruce Jenner is now known as Caitlyn Jenner.

ESPY Awards show producer Maura Mandt says Jenner's coming out "can help to educate people on the challenges that the transgender community faces."

Previous winners of the award include tennis player Billie Jean King, football player Michael Sam, the late basketball coach Dean Smith, and ABC broadcaster Robin Roberts.

An online petition has been started requesting Hill and Jenner receive the award. View it here.

The Associated Press contributed to this story.