Reports: 6 officers who stopped Dayton gunman to get Medal of Valor from Trump

Mourners pause at a makeshift memorial for the slain and injured outside Ned Peppers bar in the Oregon District after a mass shooting that occurred early Sunday morning, Tuesday, Aug. 6, 2019, in Dayton. (AP Photo/John Minchillo)

WASHINGTON (WTHR) — The six officers who stopped the gunman during the mass shooting in Ohio last month will be awarded the Medal of Valor from President Donald Trump, police sources say.

The officers who fatally shot the gunman in the rampage in Dayton that killed nine people and injured dozens of others will be presented the medal on Monday, news outlets report. The president will give it to them at the White House, Jeremy Campbell, one of the Dayton police officers, told WLWT.

The shooter was taken down within 30 seconds of the first gunshot being fired and before he was able to enter a bar the early morning of Aug. 4. Officials said the officers’ quick actions to engage the shooter prevented what could have been many more deaths in the city’s Oregon District, a historic neighborhood and entertainment area.

Along with Campbell, the other police involved in the shooting were officers Brian Rolfes, Vincent Carter, Ryan Nabel, David Denlinger and Sgt. William C. Knight.

The Public Safety Officer Medal of Valor is the highest award for bravery and given to those who exhibit exceptional courage, regardless of personal safety, to save or protect others, according to the Justice Department.

Filed under: