Illinois Senate debates fines for smoking with kids in car

(Photo: Shutterstock/Danai Khampiranon)
Published:
Updated:

SPRINGFIELD, Ill. (WTHR) - Lawmakers in Illinois want to start punishing smokers who light up with kids in the car.

The bill, which has already passed through the Illinois House of Representatives, would allow police to write a ticket if they see someone smoking in a car with a person under the age of 18. According to KWQC, the bill states it doesn't matter if the windows are open or closed or if the vehicle is moving or parked when the offense occurs.

First offenders would face a $100 fine, while additional offenses would be fined up to $250 if the bill becomes law.

Indiana legislators introduced a similar bill in Indiana in January, but with much steeper penalties.

Senate Bill 34 recommended charging those found smoking in a vehicle with a child younger than six years old with a Class B infraction, which is punishable with a fine up to $1,000. After a third offense in a year, the smoker could be charged with a Class A infraction, which carries a fine up to $10,000.

The bill was read in the house January 3, but did not move after it was sent to committee.

Filed under: