Illinois law creates fines for smoking in the car with children

Image from Pixabay
Published:
Updated:

SPRINGFIELD, Ill. (WTHR) — It is now against the law in Illinois to smoke in the car if children are present.

If caught under the new law, you would face a first-time fine of up to $100. If you're caught a second time, that fine will jump up to $250.

According to WMAQ-TV, the governor signed the law on Friday and it went into effect immediately.

Indiana lawmakers took a stab at similar legislation this past session. It would have made the penalty for smoking with a child in the car $1,000 for the first offense and up to $10,000 if you were caught three times in one year.

The bill was authored by Senators Jim Merritt (R) and Eddie Melton (D) but didn't make it out of committee.

Filed under: