Evansville Memorial tops Brebeuf 29-17 for Class 3A title


INDIANAPOLIS (WTHR) - Evansville Memorial held off Brebeuf Jesuit Friday to win the Class 3A state championship at Lucas Oil Stadium.

Brebeuf tied the game at seven with a touchdown pass from Derrick Ozobu to Gabe Wright early in the second quarter. But the Tigers regained the lead on a Michael Lindauer touchdown run to take a 14-7 lead to the half.

After a Matt Clark field goal, Miles McIlwain returned the ensuing kickoff 77 yards for a Braves touchdown. Lindauer answered again, finding Branson Combs for an 11-yard touchdown and a 23-14 lead.

On their next possession, Brebeuf kicked a field goal to finish a drive that defied statistics.

Starting at their own 15-yard line, Ozobu was sacked for a loss of nine yards. But on the following play, he found Jacob Pressler for a 90-yard pass to the Tigers' four-yard line. But two penalties and a three-yard loss on a pass completion pushed the Braves back to the 27, where Alec Bevelheimer was called on to kick a 44-yard field goal to bring Brebeuf within 23-17. The drive was officially six plays for 58 yards, including the 90-yard bomb.

But the Tigers put the game away with a 24-yard run with just over two minutes remaining, giving Memorial its first state title, 29-17.

Brebeuf's Dillon Howell was awarded the Blake Ress Mental Attitude Winner after the game.