Eight Indiana TV stations to end analog on Tuesday


Eight Indiana television stations are among the more than 400 that have said they intend to shut down analog TV broadcasts on or around Tuesday, rather than wait until the June 12 deadline set by Congress.

The stations were listed by the Federal Communications Commission as of Monday. Another 191 full-power stations have already turned off analog.

Some stations that are dropping full analog transmissions will maintain a so-called "night light" service in analog for a few months, with public service announcements and local news.

The Indiana stations are WFWA (PBS), WISE-TV (NBC) and WPTA (ABC) of Fort Wayne; WCLJ-TV and WIPB (PBS) of Indianapolis; and WSJV (Fox), WNDU-TV (NBC) and WSBT-TV (CBS) of South Bend-Elkhart.

WTHR-TV will continue to broadcast in analog and digital until June 12th, when the station will turn off its analog signal.

See a nationwide list of stations that have stopped transmitting in analog.

(Copyright © 2009 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This story may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed without the prior written authority of The Associated Press.)