Dave Matthews Band not picked for Rock and Roll Hall of Fame despite topping fan vote

The Dave Matthews Band performs at the 2019 Rock in Rio Music Festival held in the Olympic Park of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil on September 29, 2019. (Photo by Lorando Labbe/Fotoarena/Sipa USA)(Sipa via AP Images)

CLEVELAND — Despite dominating the fan vote, the 2020 class of Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductees does not include Dave Matthews Band.

It marks the first time the top vote recipient was not included in the class of inductees since the Rock Hall first introduced the fan ballot several years ago.

Only one of the top five vote getters — The Doobie Brothers — is among the 2020 inductees.

Here’s a breakdown of how the fans voted in correlation with the actual outcome of inductees according to the Rock Hall's leader board (bold text indicates 2020 inductee):

  1. Dave Matthews Band: 1,005,657 votes

  2. Pat Benatar: 882,207 votes

  3. The Doobie Brothers (selected for 2020 induction): 784,729 votes

  4. Soundgarden: 722,931 votes

  5. Judas Priest: 675,434 votes

  6. Whitney Houston (selected for 2020 induction): 593,374 votes

  7. Depeche Mode (selected for 2020 induction): 563,612 votes

  8. Thin Lizzy: 556,476 votes

  9. Motörhead: 512,918 votes

  10. Todd Rundgren: 440,898 votes

  11. Nine Inch Nails (selected for 2020 induction): 380,869 votes

  12. T. Rex (selected for 2020 induction): 365,290 votes

  13. The Notorious B.I.G. (selected for 2020 induction): 275,892 votes

  14. Rufus featuring Chaka Khan: 166,596 votes

  15. Kraftwerk: 163,667 votes

  16. MC5: 160,685 votes

The fan ballot, which launched when the 16 nominees were announced last October, closed on Jan. 10. Rock Hall officials say more than 8.2 million votes were tallied in the fan vote, which is more than double last year’s ballot of 3.3 million votes.