WTHR collects 12 Indiana AP awards

Published: .
Updated: .

Eyewitness News won 12 first place awards at the Indiana Associated Press awards Saturday night.

WTHR took home top honors for best website, outstanding weather operation and best station photojournalism in the metro television categories. Eyewitness News Nightbeat producer Duane Becker won Best Producer, reporter Sandra Chapman won as best reporter. Chapman also won for her continuing coverage of the State Fair stage collapse, along with reporter Jeremy Brilliant and producer Cyndee Hebert.

13 Investigates reporter Bob Segall and photojournalist Bill Ditton won Best News Series for their investigation into the Hoosier Lottery's new headquarters on the north side of downtown. The pair, along with Hebert, also won for their investigative reports on "hot trucks" carrying food on Indiana's highways.

Reporter Kevin Rader and photojournalist Steve Rhodes won for Best Feature for the "50 Year Secret," a story about the 1963 explosion at the Fairgrounds Coliseum. Reporter Richard Essex and photojournalist John Duong won in the Best General News category for their story about Butler student Chris McBarnes, who was elected as Frankfort's youngest mayor in history. Duong also won for Best Feature or Enterprise Videography.

Eyewitness News also collected two second place awards at Saturday's ceremony.