Wisconsin's Ball leads All-Big Ten selections

Published: .
Updated: .

Career touchdown leader Montee Ball of Wisconsin was selected the Big Ten's top running back for the second straight year and was a first-team all-conference pick by both the coaches and media.

The announcement Monday came two days after he became the NCAA's all-time leader in touchdowns. He set the record with his 79th TD when he scored on a 17-yard run Saturday against Penn State.

With 1,528 yards rushing and 18 touchdowns this season, it was hardly a surprise that the coaches and media both picked Ball. They also went with conference rushing leader Le'Veon Bell of Michigan State (1,648 yards), but they were split at quarterback.

The media went with Ohio State's Braxton Miller and the coaches choosing Nebraska's Taylor Martinez.

Six Boilermakers make team

Highlighted by first team All-Big Ten honors for defensive tackle Kawann Short, six Purdue football players have been recognized by the Big Ten coaches and media members as all-conference selections.

Short, a first team selection by the coaches last season, was feted as such by both the coaches and the media this year. A native of East Chicago, Ind., short wrapped up his final regular season at Purdue with 42 tackles, 14.5 tackles for loss, six sacks, four PBUs, four blocked kicks, two fumbles recovered and one forced. He finished the regular season tied for fourth in the Big Ten in tackles for loss per game and tied for fifth in sacks. With a bowl game remaining to be played, Short is eighth all-time at Purdue in both career tackles for loss (48.0) and sacks (18.5).

Cornerbacks Ricardo Allen (Coaches) and Josh Johnson (Media) were both recognized as second team selections. Allen, a junior from Daytona Beach, Fla., finished sixth for Purdue with 44 tackles, including 41 solo stops, with four tackles for loss and his second career sack. He broke up three passes and returned his lone interception this season for a touchdown, a school-record fourth of his career.

Johnson, a senior from Dade City, Fla., ended the regular season third on the team with 58 tackles, including 53 solo stops, with three tackles for loss, one sack three fumbles forced and one fumble recovery. His 19 passes defended (16 PBUs and three interceptions) placed him second in the Big Ten this season. Johnson recorded his first career pix-six against Marshall, racing 74 yards for the score.

Allen (Media) and Johnson (Coaches) were joined by Antavian Edison (Coaches and Media), Landon Feichter (Media) and Cody Webster (Coaches and Media) on the honorable mention list.

Purdue's 2012 All-Big Ten Team Members

CB Ricardo Allen (Second Team Coaches, Honorable Mention Media)
41-3-44, 4.0 TFL, 1.0 Sack, 1 INT, TD, 3 PBU, 1 FF

WR Atavian Edison (Honorable Mention Coaches and Media)
57 Rec., 625 yards, 8 TDs

S Landon Feichter (Honorable Mention Media)
50-26-76, 2.0 TFL, 4 INT, TD, 3 PBU

CB Josh Johnson (Second Team Media, Honorable Mention Coaches)
53-5-58, 3.0 TFL, 3 INT, TD, 16 PBU, FR, 3 FF

DT Kawann Short (First Team Coaches and Media)
34-8-42, 14.5 TFL, 6.0 Sacks, 4 PBU, 2 FR, FF, 4 Blocked Kicks

P Cody Webster (Honorable Mention Coaches and Media)
66 Punts, 2,806 yards, 42.5 avg., Long of 72 yards, 20 FC, 29 i20, 17 of 50+

Nine Hoosiers recognized

Indiana senior defensive tackle Adam Replogle and sophomore wide receiver Cody Latimer earned second team All-Big Ten honors, the conference announced Monday evening. Seven additional Hoosiers received honorable mention recognition. The nine honorees are the most for the IU program since 2001, when 12 Hoosiers collected league laurels.

Replogle earned second team accolades from the conference coaches and media, while Latimer was recognized as a second-teamer by the media and was an honorable mention selection by the coaches.

Junior tight end Ted Bolser (coaches and media), junior kicker Mitch Ewald (media), true freshman right guard Dan Feeney (coaches and media), junior safety Greg Heban (media), fifth-year senior center Will Matte (media), true freshman left tackle Jason Spriggs (coaches and media) and sophomore wide receiver Shane Wynn (media) were honorable mention.

Indiana's six honorees on offense and three honorees on the offensive line are also the most since the 2001 team had eight and five, respectively.

Additionally, fifth-year senior defensive tackle Nicholas Sliger was named Indiana's Big Ten Sportsmanship Award winner.

(The Associated Press, Purdue University and Indiana University contributed to this story.)