"Slick" Leonard inducted to Basketball Hall of Fame

Published: .
Updated: .
The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame is welcoming its class of 2014.

WATCH: Bobby "Slick" Leonard's acceptance speech

Former Indiana Pacers coach Bobby "Slick" Leonard is among the inductees Friday night. The winningest coach in Pacers history, Leonard played collegiately at Indiana University, then played eight years in the NBA. He led the Pacers for 12 seasons, leading the team to three championships.

"I've had a love affair with the fans and the people in the state of Indiana," Leonard said. "We call ourselves 'Hoosiers'. It's a love affair that has gone on for years, since I was at Indiana University, and I wish that it could last forever, but I know better."

WATCH: Slick Leonard's career | Larry Bird on Slick

Former Golden State star Mitch Richmond was the first to be inducted in a ceremony at Symphony Hall in Springfield on Friday night. Next up was Gary Williams, who coached Maryland to 11 consecutive NCAA tournament appearances and the 2002 national championship.

Former NBA commissioner David Stern was scheduled to be honored later in the ceremony.

NBA star Alonzo Mourning and former Arkansas coach Nolan Richardson are also in the class of 2014. The women's team from Immaculata College is also being honored, along with Lithuania star Sarunas Marciulionis. The late Nat "Sweetwater" Clifton of the New York Knicks and the late Guy Rodgers of Temple round out the class.

(The Associated Press contributed to this story.)