President declares "major disaster" for 6 Indiana counties


President Barack Obama declared a "major disaster" area in southern Indiana Friday.

The declaration orders federal aid to supplement state and local recovery efforts in Clark, Jefferson, Ripley, Scott, Warrick and Washington counties. Assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses and other programs to help individuals and businesses recover from last week's storms.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency said additional designations may be made in the future if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

FEMA said that residents and business owners who sustained losses in the designated counties can begin applying for assistance tomorrow by registering online at or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA(3362) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech impaired. The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. (local time) seven days a week until further notice.