Park Tudor's Bluiett wins IBCA award for fourth time


Park Tudor senior Trevon Bluiett poured in 37 points and grabbed 17 rebounds to pace this week's recipients in the IBCA/Subway Player of the Week program.

Bluiett is joined by Westview senior Jordyn Bontrager and Barr-Reeve junior Addison Wagler as

Week 19 honorees (March 17-22) in the recognition program overseen by the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association.

The 6-5 Bluiett took the District 2 honor for the second consecutive week and the fourth time this season as he led Park Tudor (23-4) a Class 2A semistate crown with a 76-64 victory over Clarksville.

The Xavier University recruit converted 10-of-22 shots, 3-of-7 3-pointers and 13-of-16 free throws en route to his big game. He also added four assists as the Panthers advanced to the IHSAA State Finals for the third time in his four seasons.

Bluiett previously claimed Player of the Week honors on Dec. 9-14, Jan. 13-18 and March 10-15.

Bontrager and Wagler were respective winners for District 1 and District 3.

The 5-10 Bontrager nearly had a triple-double as he produced 18 points, 12 rebounds and nine assists to lead Westview (23-4) to a 65-58 win over Lewis Cass and the Class 2A northern semistate crown. Bontrager sank 7-of-12 shots from the floor and added 4-of-7 free throws to propel the Warriors to the State Finals.

Wagler, a 6-5 forward, provided 24 points and 13 rebounds as Barr-Reeve (26-1) beat Clay City 75-55 in a Class A semistate tame. Wagler made 7-of-9 shots as well as 10-of-12 free throws while adding two assists for the Vikings.

This is the sixth season for the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association Player of the Week program and the second season it is presented by Subway Restaurants of Indiana, a banner sponsor of the IBCA. Subway, in its fourth season as an IBCA sponsor, encourages athletes to "train hard and eat fresh."

Player of the Week winners are chosen each week from each of the IHSAA's three districts. Boys winners will be chosen for one more week.

Other nominees for Week 19 (2013-14)

District 1 boys: Joe Bannister, Lake Central; Anthony Cole, Bowman Academy; Greg Eifert, Fort Wayne Dwenger; Ryan Fazekas, Marquette Catholic; Austin Keisling, Cass; Caleb Swanigan, Homestead.

District 2 boys: Matt Holba, Guerin Catholic; Trey Lyles, Indianapolis Tech; Franklin Nunn, Liberty Christian.

District 3 boys: Easton Booe, Clay City; Macy Holdsworth, Greensburg; Calvin McEwen, Clarksville; Grant Sims, Bloomington North.

(This story is a release from the IBCA)