Officials to assess public damage from flooding

Published: .
Updated: .

Officials are about to begin assessing damage to public infrastructure from flooding in 18 Indiana counties to determine if the disaster warrants federal public assistance.

The Indiana Department of Homeland Security says local, state and federal officials will begin preliminary assessments Monday after widespread flooding last month.

The 18 counties included are Benton, Boone, Clay, Clinton, Fountain, Hendricks, Howard, Knox, Madison, Montgomery, Parke, Putnam, Tippecanoe, Tipton, Vermillion, Vigo, Wabash and Warren.

If President Barack Obama grants the assistance, state and local governments and some nonprofit groups could apply for federal assistance to pay 75 percent of the approved cost of debris removal, emergency services related to the disaster, and repairing or replacing damaged public facilities.

The U.S. Small Business Administration has already approved low-interest loans for individual flood victims.

(Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)