No additional early voting locations for Marion County

Published: .
Updated: .

Voters in Marion County will be limited to early voting at the clerk's office in downtown Indianapolis for the November 2014 election.

Two resolutions were proposed to open additional early voting locations, and to conduct precinct-based counting of absentee ballots. State law requires unanimous agreement of the bipartisan Election Board to open the additional sites. Republican members of the board voted against the resolution, meaning that only the clerk's office will offer early voting.

Marion County Clerk Beth White (D) said she was disappointed in the vote.

"Early voting is a popular and convenient option for many people. I'm pleased we will continue to offer early voting in my office, but the Election Board could do much more to encourage civic participation by allowing additional sites around the county," said White.

Also, a new state law requires Marion County to centrally count absentee ballots on Election Day unless the Election Board unanimously agrees to count the ballots at individual precinct polling locations, which is the way it was traditionally done. White argued that it could cost between $80,000 and $100,000 per election and was hoping to be able to count the votes at precincts.

Last day to register to vote: Monday, October 6

Early voting in the Clerk's Office:

Tuesday, October 7 to Friday, October 10, 8AM to 5PM

Monday, October 13 to Friday, October 17, 8AM to 5PM

Monday, October 20 to Friday, October 24, 8AM to 5PM

Saturday, October 25 & Sunday, October 26, 10AM to 5PM

Monday, October 27 to Friday, October 31, 8AM to 8PM

Saturday, November 1 & Sunday, November 2 - 10AM to 5PM

Last day! Monday, November 3 - 8AM to 12PM (noon)

Last day to request an absentee-by-mail ballot: Monday, October 27

Check your polling place and voter registration.