Nine more Indiana counties to receive FEMA snow assistance

Published: .
Updated: .

Nine additional Indiana counties will receive federal grants for the severe winter storm in January.

Blackford, Clinton, Fulton, Hamilton, Johnson, LaGrange, Marion, Montgomery, and Vanderburgh counties have been granted public assistance by the FEMA. The counties join 19 others to receive assistance for the storm that affected most of the state January 5-9.

"This continues to be good financial news for cities and towns in these counties," said Governor Mike Pence. "Federal grants mean millions of dollars replenishing local budgets."

Additional counties may still request assistance.

FEMA Public Assistance grants will pay 75 percent of eligible expenses for damage to roads, bridges, utilities, debris removal, buildings' contents and equipment, water control facilities, parks and recreational facilities, and others, as well as emergency protective measures like traffic control and rescue operations.

All of the counties except Vanderburgh received a snow assistance designation from FEMA. That covers all snow removal costs for the 48-hour period with the highest costs. By receiving 150 percent of their record snowfall, Noble and Whitley counties are eligible for 72 hours of Snow Assistance.

The Indiana Department of Homeland Security will work with FEMA and local agencies to document allowable expenses.