NASCAR's Chase for the championship won't include last year's winner


Brad Keselowski failed to make it when an ill-timed caution ruined his run at Richmond International Raceway. Ryan Newman also was nosed out despite pulling ahead with 10 laps remaining at Richmond International Speedway.

Clint Bowyer spun three laps later to bring out a caution that ruined Newman's race. Newman and Martin Truex Jr. were locked into a race for the second of two wild cards in the 12-driver Chase field, and the race win would have given it to Newman. But Bowyer's spinout allowed his teammate - Truex - to grab the final spot in the Chase.

Joey Logano qualified for the Chase in sixth, followed by Greg Biffle, Bowyer, and Dale Earnhardt Jr. Kurt Busch claimed the first wild-card berth after finishing second to Carl Edwards in Saturday's race.