Minnesota Gov. Dayton signs gay marriage bill

A gay marriage rally outside the Supreme Court earlier this year.
Published: .
Updated: .

Minnesota Gov. Mark Dayton has signed a bill that legalizes gay marriage, making the state the 12th to do so.

Cheering spectators filled the south lawn of the state Capitol for the outdoor ceremony, with rainbow and American flags fluttering in a sweltering breeze.

Dayton thanked legislators for political courage before signing the bill.

His signature came just a day after the state Senate approved it.

Gay marriage is legal in 12 US states: Connecticut, Delaware, Iowa, Massachusetts, Maryland, Maine, Minnesota, New Hampshire, New York, Rhode Island, Vermont and Washington, along with the District of Columbia.

Thirty-six states have gay marriage bans through either laws or constitutional amendments or both.

The Supreme Court is expected to make a decision about same sex marriage in June. The case is an appeal of California's Proposition 8 that limits marriage to opposite sex couples.

(Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)