Louisville fans celebrate NCAA championship win; 23 arrested

Published: .
Updated: .

A parade is planned for Wednesday for the Louisville Cardinals after the team won their first NCAA men's basketball championship since 1986.

Fans rushed into the streets in Louisville after the game and things quickly got out of control. One officer was injured after getting in the head with a glass bottle. A fire department arson officer was attacked by the crowd.

Police had to use tear gas and pepper spray to get control of the crowd. At least 23 people were arrested, mostly for alcohol intoxication and disorderly conduct.

Before the mayhem in the streets, the Cardinals celebrated after beating Michigan in a thrilling championship game. Kevin Ware enjoyed the moment despite his crutches after breaking his leg at a game in Indianapolis.

Coach Rick Pitino talked about the difference Kevin Ware made for the team after his injury.

"Kevin (Ware), without question, I'm not sure I could have, or the players, gotten over that emotional trauma if he didn't say to me, 'Coach I'll be fine, we've got to win the game.' He said three times, I said, 'hold on' and I got everybody in. I'm not sure any of us could have beaten a great team like Duke unless he gathered us all together. From there, we don't, there's so many plots, we don't get to the Final Four game if a walk-on doesn't step up and hit two gigantic threes," said Pitino.

"Not being able to play made things tougher, but it was never about me. As long as we're winning, that's all that matters," said Ware.

"It just feels amazing to get this win. Playing for a great guy, off the court from coaching, for a great father figure like Coach P is truly amazing. I babysit his grandkids. So it's just truly amazing to get this win for him and I'm just truly blessed," said Peyton Siva, Louisville guard.

Coach Rick Pitino made NCAA history by becoming the first coach to win a championship for two different teams. He won with Kentucky in 1996.

Hours before the big game Monday night, Pitino was among seven people elected to the Basketball Hall of Fame.