Last unbeaten girls basketball teams meet in regional Saturday

Published: .
Updated: .

Only two unbeaten teams remain in Indiana high school girls basketball.

Columbus North (25-0) visits Bedford North Lawrence (24-0) Saturday in the regionals in the second semifinal at 12:30 p.m. The Columbus North Bulldogs are ranked number one in Class 4A. The Bedford North Lawrence Stars are ranked second. The game can be watched on a live webcast.

"It's huge," says Columbus North sophomore Ali Patberg, the Bulldogs top scorer at over 18 points a game. "It's going to be fun. It's hard to sleep at night this week. But it's going by pretty slow. I think we're ready. We've prepared well all season."

"They're a great team," added Columbus North junior Tayler Goodall during practice Thursday. "Matching up, it's going to be a tough game. It's going to be close. It could go either way. Both teams are great."

Columbus North advanced to the state final last year, losing to North Central in overtime, 50-48.

Indiana Girls Basketball Regionals
Saturday, February 16, 2013.
Admission: $7 per session; $10 both sessions.
Class 4A Bracket | Class 3A Bracket | Class 2A Bracket | Class A Bracket

Girls Tournament Notables (Provided by the IHSAA)

Looking for First Regional Title (18 of 64) 
4A: Logansport. 
3A: Hamilton Heights, Indian Creek, Rensselaer Central.
2A: Whiting, Wabash.
A: Randolph Southern, Shakamak, Tindley, Trinity Lutheran, West Central.

Looking to Break Regional Championship Drought (Five or More Years) 
36: Norwell (1977).
33: Greencastle, Knightstown, Paoli (1980).
31: Sullivan (1982).
29: Speedway (1984).
25: Franklin Central (1988).
22: Brownsburg (1991).
21: Bedford North Lawrence (1992).
15: Lake Central, Morgan Township (1998).
14: Eastern (Greentown), Westfield (1999).
12: Connersville, Jasper, Lebanon, New Washington (2001).
10: Boone Grove, North Vermillion (2003).
9: Warsaw (2004).
8: Corydon Central, NorthWood (2005).
7: Castle, Lafayette Central Catholic, Westview (2006).
6: Evansville Bosse, Oregon-Davis (2007).
5: Fort Wayne South Side, Plymouth (2008).

Defending Regional Champions Still Alive (12 of 16) 
4A: Columbus North, Penn. 
3A: Fort Wayne Concordia, Mt. Vernon (Fortville).
2A: Evansville Mater Dei, Fort Wayne Bishop Luers, Seeger, Triton Central.
A: Fort Wayne Canterbury, Northeast Dubois, Southwestern (Shelbyville).

Active Regional Championship Streaks (Three or more years) 
5: Fort Wayne Canterbury.
3: Fort Wayne Bishop Luers, Fort Wayne Concordia.

Most Consecutive Regional Championships 
6 by Pike Central (1990-95); 6 by NorthWood (1994-99).

Top 10 All-Time Regional Championship Leaders 
13: Ben Davis.
12: Kokomo.
11: Fort Wayne Bishop Luers, Valparaiso.
10: NorthWood, Rushville, Scottsburg.
9: Anderson, Bedford North Lawrence, Benton Central, Mooresville.

2012 State Finals Teams Still Alive (7 of 8) 
4A: Columbus East. 
3A: Fort Wayne Concordia, Mt. Vernon (Fortville). 
2A: Evansville Mater Dei, Fort Wayne Bishop Luers. 
A: Fort Wayne Canterbury, Northeast Dubois.

First-Time Sectional Champions 
4A: None. 
3A: None.
2A: None.
A: Shakamak, Trinity Lutheran.