Indianapolis MotoGP winner is rookie Marc Marquez


Rookie Marc Marquez passed two-time world champion Jorge Lorenzo midway through Sunday's race and pulled away for a 3.495-second victory at the Indianapolis Grand Prix.

Dani Pedrosa, Marquez's Repsol Honda teammate, was second. Lorenzo of Yamaha Factory Racing finished third.

The 20-year-old Spanish rookie joined Lorenzo and Casey Stoner as the only MotoGP riders to win three races in one country in the same season.

Lorenzo and Pedrosa beat the pole-winner into the first turn, forcing Marquez to play catch-up. Marquez passed Pedrosa with 17 laps to go and caught Lorenzo with a nifty inside move in the second turn of lap 13. Marquez never trailed again.

Marquez has won three straight, and his fourth win this season tied the series' rookie record set by Kenny Roberts in 1978.

The Red Bull Indianapolis GP will return to the Indianapolis Motor Speedway for a seventh consecutive year in 2014, with an expected race date in mid-August to be announced in the future.

(Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)