Indiana will reward best teachers with grant money

Published: .
Updated: .

Forty schools and school districts have been selected to share $10 million in grants to reward excellent teachers.

The Indiana Department of Education announced recently it was recommending members of the group to the State Budget Committee to receive Excellence in Performance for Teachers grants. The General Assembly established the grant in 2011 to help schools recruit and retain good teachers.

The Perry Township school district in Indianapolis was selected for the largest amount, over $921,000. Also chosen for grants of $500,000 or more were the Fayette County Schools, the Greensburg Community Schools, the Noblesville Community Schools, the Mishawaka-based Penn-Harris-Madison School Corp., the North Montgomery Community Schools, and the Zionsville Community Schools.

Most grants are at least $100,000, but a few are less than that.

(Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)