Indiana Wesleyan captures NAIA Div. II championship

Published: .
Updated: .

Indiana Wesleyan captured its second national championship Tuesday night in Iowa.

Taylor Goshert scored 15 points to lead the Wildcats to a 61-43 win over Davenport (Mich.) to claim the NAIA Division II Women's Basketball Championship. Claire Ray, a Heritage Christian grad who transferred from Butler, and Paige Smith, a senior from Hamilton Southeastern, scored 14 points apiece.

Indiana Wesleyan trailed 23-21 at halftime, but outscored the Panthers 40-20 in the second half to secure the championship.

The Wildcats also won the NAIA Division II title in 2007, finishing with a 38-0 record.