Indiana shares timber revenue with 17 counties

Published: .
Updated: .

Seventeen southern Indiana counties will receive shares of more than $380,000 as part of the state's annual distribution of revenue from timber sales.

Brown County will receive nearly $66,000 and Clark and Monroe counties each will receive more than $57,000.

The Indiana Division of Forestry allocates 15 percent of all revenue from its timber sales on state-owned land to counties where harvests occur. Each county receiving funds shares half of the money with rural and volunteer fire departments that have cooperative agreements with the Indiana Department of Natural Resources.

Other counties receiving funds are Crawford ($13,501), Dubois ($13,731), Greene ($ 911), Harrison ($37,454), Jackson ($16,424), Jennings ($ 5,236), Martin ($35,258), Morgan ($15,285), Owen ($19,099), Perry ($3,611), Pike ($ 5,281), Scott ($4,190), Sullivan ($1,325), and Washington ($29,713).

(Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)