Heartland Film announces grand prize winners

Heartland Film announces grand prize winners

Saturday evening the 22nd Annual Heartland Film Festival announced its four Grand Prize Award Winners at its Awards Ceremony at the Indiana Repertory Theatre.

The black tie event was emceed by Michael Grady, Indiana Pacers/Indiana Fever emcee and ESPN Radio personality, and was introduced by Indianapolis Mayor Greg Ballard. Special guest presenters included professional basketball player Tamika Catchings (Indiana Fever), radio personality Scott Hoke (WFYI) and Janet Allen (Indiana Repertory Theatre). Actor Vanessa Hudgens received the Pioneering Spirit: Rising Star Award for her role in "Gimme Shelter," the Festival's Opening Night Event film that held its world premiere on Thursday.

"Every year it's exciting to see amazing filmmaker talent from around the world right here in Indianapolis," said Tim Irwin, Heartland's artistic director. "Our Festival does an amazing job of connecting films to audiences and audiences to filmmakers. Heartland is proud to honor the very best in international, independent films that do more than just entertain. As evidenced by this year's winners, Heartland continues to grow artistically and redefine expectations of what inspiring film looks like."

Winners and nominees include:

Narrative Feature ($50,000 Grand Prize)

• "Hide Your Smiling Faces"

o Directed by Daniel Patrick Carbone, accepted by Producer Jordan Bailey-Hoover

• "The Forgotten Kingdom"

• "Life Inside Out"

• "This is Where We Live"

• "When a Wolf Falls in Love with a Sheep"

Documentary Features ($50,000 Grand Prize)

• "The Network"

o Directed by Eva Orner

• "Barzan"

• "Blood Brother"

• "The Genius of Marian"

• "Life According to Sam"

Narrative Short ($5,000 Grand Prize)

• "The Amber Amulet"

o Directed by Matthew Moore

• "Liquidation"

• "Rhino Full Throttle"

• "Springtime"

• "The Sweatshop"

Documentary Short ($5,000 Grand Prize)

• "Wrinkles of the City – La Havana"

o Directed by José Parlá and J.R., accepted by Rey Parlá

• "Atomic Dream"

• "The Circle"

• "Herd in Iceland"

• "How the Light Gets In"

High School Film Competition ($2,500 Grand Prize)

• "Uprooted"

o Directed by Carol Nguyen

• "The Painted Girl"

• "Media Matters"

• "Paradigm"

• "Quicksand"