Ft. Wayne Bishop Luers star named Mr. Football

Operation Football
Published: .
Updated: .

Fort Wayne Bishop Luers running back and linebacker Jaylon Smith is the winner of this year's Indianapolis Star Indiana Mr. Football award.

The Notre Dame recruit started on four Class 2A state championship teams while at Bishop Luers and ran for 150 yards and three touchdowns in last month's title game.

Smith is the first Mr. Football winner from Fort Wayne in the award's 21-year history.

The Star announced the award Thursday, saying Smith received 23 votes from the Indiana Football Coaches Association panel. The next-highest vote getters were Warren Central's Tim Kimbrough with 11 votes and Mishawaka's Sam Schrader with five votes.

(Copyright 2012 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)