FEMA approves Indiana appeal for storm assistance to 19 counties

January's snowstorm shut down travel for two days.
Published: .
Updated: .

Nineteen Indiana counties will receive grants from the Federal Emergency Management Agency after Gov. Mike Pence's appeal was granted.

Indiana first requested assistance from FEMA to help with winter storm costs from the January 5-9 snowstorm and deep freeze. That was initially denied, but now FEMA's major disaster declaration will allow the grants to 19 counties.

The state can now request assistance for additional counties.

Counties granted public assistance include: Boone, Clay, Hendricks, Huntington, Jasper, Kosciusko, Madison, Morgan, Newton, Noble, Owen, Parke, Putnam, Sullivan, Tipton, Vigo, Wabash, White and Whitley.

All counties except Owen also will receive 48 hours of snow assistance. Noble and Whitley Counties will be provided 72 hours of snow assistance.

FEMA public assistance grants will pay 75 percent of eligible expenses for damage to roads, bridges, utilities, debris removal, buildings' contents and equipment, water control facilities, parks and recreational facilities, and others, as well as emergency protective measures like traffic control and rescue operations in the aforementioned counties. The Indiana Department of Homeland Security will work with FEMA and local agencies to document allowable expenses.

Counties that were denied assistance include Allen, Benton, Blackford, Carroll, Cass, Clinton, DeKalb, Delaware, Elkhart, Fountain, Fulton, Grant, Hamilton, Hancock, Henry, Howard, Jay, Johnson, LaGrange, Lake, LaPorte, Marion, Miami, Montgomery, Rush, Shelby, Vanderburgh, Vermillion, Warren, and Wells.