Fast 9 qualifying set for Indianapolis 500 pole race

Published: .
Updated: .

The race for the Indianapolis 500 pole is set.

The Fast 9 from Saturday's qualifications are:

  1. James Hinchcliffe (230.946)
  2. Ryan Hunter-Reay (230.805)
  3. Will Power (230.736)
  4. Helio Castroneves (230.500)
  5. Townsend Bell (230.452)
  6. Josef Newgarden (230.229)
  7. Mikhail Aleshin (230.209)
  8. Carlos Munoz (230.173)
  9. Simon Pagenaud (230.102)

The qualification runs were delayed Saturday because of overnight rain at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

There were two incidents on the track during practice as rookie driver Max Chilton got turned around and backed into the turn 2 wall.  He was able to walk away and was checked out at the infield medical center where he was cleared to drive. 

Later, Pippa Mann lost control of her car, making contact with both the inside and outside walls on turn 2 while making an entire 360 spin. Her rear flaps deployed but her car never left the ground. She was quickly checked out and cleared by the infield medical center.

Filed under: