Eight Indiana schools honored as Blue Ribbon winners

Published: .
Updated: .

The U.S. Department of Education has honored eight Indiana schools as National Blue ribbon Schools this year.

The Indiana Department of Education said Monday the honorees are central Indiana's Yorktown and New Palestine high schools, LaSalle Intermediate Academy in South Bend, and five elementary schools: Douglas MacArthur in Cedar Lake, Northview in Valparaiso, Webster in Plymouth, Smoky Row in Carmel and Ferdinand Elementary.

The Blue Ribbon School program honors public and private schools that are either among the state's highest performing schools or are schools with high gains in student performance where at least 40 percent of students come from disadvantaged backgrounds.

(Copyright 2012 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)