Dungy, Harrison among semifinalists for NFL Hall of Fame

Published: .
Updated: .

Tony Dungy and Marvin Harrison have made the first cut for the NFL Hall of Fame.

The Super Bowl-winning coach and record-setting wide receiver were among 25 semifinalists for the NFL Hall of Fame Class of 2014 announced by the league Wednesday night.

Dungy posted a 139-69 record in 13 years as a head coach with Tampa Bay and Indianapolis. He won 85 games against just 27 losses in seven years with the Colts from 2002-08, coaching Indianapolis to the Super Bowl XLI championship in Miami.

Harrison played 13 seasons in the NFL, all with Indianapolis. He caught 1,102 passes in 190 career games, grabbing 128 touchdown catches during his career. The Colts drafted Harrison in the first round of the 1996 NFL Draft out of Syracuse University. He was named to the Pro Bowl team eight times in his career.

Notre Dame alumni Tim Brown and Jerome Bettis also made the list, as well as kicker Morten Andersen, who played one season as an exchange student at Ben Davis High School.

The group will be trimmed to 15 finalists in early January, then the Class of 2014 will be picked February 1.

The list of semifinalists includes:

Morten Andersen
Steve Atwater
Jerome Bettis
Derrick Brooks
Tim Brown
Don Coryell
Roger Craig
Terrell Davis
Edward DeBartolo, Jr.
Tony Dungy
Kevin Greene
Charles Haley
Marvin Harrison
Joe Jacoby
Jimmy Johnson
Walter Jones
John Lynch
Karl Mecklenburg
Andre Reed
Will Shields
Michael Strahan
Paul Tagliabue
Aeneas Williams
Steve Wisniewski
George Young