9 Southern Indiana counties to share federal forest money

Published: .
Updated: .

Nine southern Indiana counties will share nearly $270,000 in federal funding to support local schools and roads under a one-year reauthorization of the Secure Rural Schools and Community Self-Determination Act.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture announced last week the funds will go to Brown, Crawford, Dubois, Jackson, Lawrence, Martin, Monroe, Orange and Perry counties.

The amount of each state's payment is determined by a number of factors written into the law, including how many counties ultimately decide to share in that payment. Each county's share of their state's payment amounts can be found online here.

The money was offered to counties where national forests are located.

(Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)