24 schools join lawsuit over Affordable Care Act

Published: .
Updated: .

Two dozen Indiana public schools have joined a federal lawsuit against several government agencies in connection with the Affordable Care Act.

Fifteen schools were part of the original suit against the Internal Revenue Service, the United States Department of the Treasury, the United States Department of Health and Human Services and the United States Department of Labor that was filed in October.

The lawsuit challenges new IRS regulations implementing the Affordable Care Act and challenges the employer mandate provision of the law, which requires applicable large employers to offer health insurance to full-time employees or face financial penalties.

"All Indiana public school corporations provide comprehensive health insurance coverage to most of their employees. However, the practical reality is that most Indiana public school corporations do not have the financial resources to provide affordable, minimum value coverage to all employees who work in excess of 30 hours of service per week," said Jim Hamilton, an attorney at the law firm representing the schools.


Schools added to suit


  • Area 30 Career Center Education Interlocal
  • Charles A. Beard Memorial School Corporation
  • Cloverdale Community School Corporation
  • Daleville Community Schools
  • Eastern Howard School Corporation 
  • East Porter County School Corporation
  • Eminence Community School Corporation
  • Fayette County School Corporation
  • Greencastle Community School Corporation
  • Monroe Central School Corporation
  • Nettle Creek School Corporation
  • Northeastern Wayne School Corporation
  • North Putnam Community School Corporation
  • Northwestern School Corporation
  • North West Hendricks School Corporation
  • Old National Trail Special Services Cooperative
  • Salem Community Schools
  • Shelby Eastern School Corporation
  • South Gibson School Corporation
  • South Putnam Community School Corporation
  • Taylor Community School Corporation
  • Union School Corporation
  • Western School Corporation
  • Western Wayne Schools

Schools in original lawsuit

  • Vincennes Community School Corporation
  • Benton Community School Corporation
  • Community School Corporation of Eastern Hancock County
  • John Glenn School Corporation
  • Madison Consolidated Schools
  • Metropolitan School District of Martinsville
  • Monroe-Gregg School District
  • Mooresville Consolidated School Corporation
  • North Lawrence Community Schools
  • Northwestern Consolidated School District of Shelby County
  • Perry Central Community Schools
  • Shelbyville Central Schools
  • South Henry School Corporation
  • Southwest Parke Community School Corporation
  • Southwestern Jefferson County Consolidated School Corporation