Indiana's new teen driver law goes into effect July 1 - 13 WTHR Indianapolis

Indiana's new teen driver law goes into effect July 1

Updated:

Indianapolis, IN. - Beginning July 1, 2009, Indiana will implement new Graduated Drivers Licensing (GDL) requirements for probationary drivers (under the age of 18).

Because young drivers are at greater risk for crashes and fatalities, specific restrictions have been put into place to help teens safely travel Indiana's roadways.

Drivers who get an Indiana driver's license on or after July 1, 2009, will have the following restrictions:

Telecommunication devices

Drivers under the age of 18 may not use any type of telecommunication device while driving except to make emergency 911 calls.

When you may drive

Drivers under the age of 18 may not drive between 10 p.m. and 5 a.m. for 180 days after
getting their license.
After the first 180 days, you may not drive during the following hours:

- Sunday through Thursday, 11 p.m. - 5 a.m.
- Friday and Saturday, 1 a.m. - 5 a.m.

Drivers under the age of 18 may drive at any time if traveling to or from work, school, or
religious event, or if you are accompanied by an individual with a valid Indiana driver's
license who is 25 years or older.

Driving with passengers

If you get a probationary driver's license on or after July 1, 2009, you may not drive with
passengers for the first 180 days after obtaining your license, unless you are also
accompanied by a licensed instructor, an individual with a valid Indiana driver's license
who is 25 years or older, or a parent, guardian, or step-parent who is 21 years or
older. You may drive with your child, sibling, or spouse during the hours allowed by law.

Court diversion programs

If you get a probationary driver's license on or after July 1, 2009, you will not qualify for
court diversion programs.

See more information about Graduated Drivers Licensing or young driver safety.

Powered by WorldNow